Make your own free website on Tripod.com

اهلاً بكم في موقع متحف اليمن للسيارات التاريخية     Welcome to Yemen Classic Cars Web Site

Yemen Classic Cars Museum

متحف اليمن للسيارات التاريخية

 

Home Up Fiat Topolino 1950 Austin A40 1949 Riley Model Year 1964 Opel Olympia OL38 1938 Willys-Jeep 1966 Morris Minor 1958 Morris-Commercial Truck 1931-26 Dodge Power Wagon Classic MotorBikes دراجات نارية قديمة Singer Fiat 1968 Car Templete

Riley Model Year 1964

Car Name

Riley. Farina

Model

 4/72

Year

1964

Description

Personal History

 
Serial Number:5316425
No. of Cylinders: 4 -1622 cc
Engine Tag No:5289
Units In Stock: 1
TRANSMISSION 

Overall gear ratios.
1st
15.64
2nd 9.52
3rd 5.91
4th 4.33
Reverse 20.45

DIMENSIONS

Wheelbase 8'4" (aprx 2550mm)
Track 4'3.5" (aprx 1300mm)
Length 14'11.5" (aprx 4560mm)
Width 5'3.5" (aprx 1610mm)
Tires 5.90x14
Weight 21.75cwt
Fuel Tank 10galls

SUSPENSION

Independent Coils at Front
Semi Elliptic at rear
BRAKES
Girling hydraulic drum 
brakes with wedge operated 
shoes
9in drums.
B-Series Farina 4-Door Saloon

The 4/72 replaced the 4/68 in October 1961, and was essentially the same car. The 2 big differences was the enlarged 1622cc B-Series Engine, and the redesigned tail-fins. The car also featured front and rear anti-roll bars, wider track and an automatic option.

The car was also marketed as every other BMC Marque, like the 4/68 before it, but got killed off early, in 1969, when BLMC decided that the Riley Marque was a drain, down which their money was disappearing.

More Details Will Be Added Soon, YCC

سنظيف المزيد من المعلومات في القريب العاعجل فضلا زرنا مرة اخر

 

Links

Industry History

 

Riley's in Australia

Robs Riley Pages: A large collection of Information for owners of any Riley Car.
Riley Register: The Riley Register is the club for owners of pre-war Riley cars
Riley Motor Cars
Resource site for Riley Cars.
Riley Club Victoria
Pages setting out activities and aims of the Riley Club in Victoria with links to images of members cars, history and other Riley related items of interest.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Riley's - The BMC Years

The End of a Great Marque

The year 1957 saw great changes for Riley. The last Car that could be described as a real-Riley was shelved and replaced with a Wolesley. The Two-Point-Six was essentially a Wolsley 6/90 with a different Radiator.The engine was a tuned BMC C-series 2.6litre 'six', used in the Wolsley and also the large Morris and MG saloons of the time. The interior was also largely the same as the Wolsley, and apart from extra speed the 2 handled the same as well.The same year the delayed replacement for the RME was launched, originally intended to be a Morris Minor replacement, the car was adapted with more luxury appointments to provide both Riley and Wolsley with a new small model. Called the One-Point-Five by Riley, and also the Wolsley 1500 it was again essentially a Wolsley with a different radiator, tuned engine and different trim. However, the car sold extremely well, beating all other Riley Models with over 30,000 cars built!In 1959 the 2.6 was replaced by the 4/68, the Riley version of BMCs ubiquitous B-series Farina Models. It was powered by the same 1489cc B-series engine as the 1.5, but still somehow appealed to a differnet market, largely due to the bidder more roomy bodywork.
It was replaced by the 4/72 two years later, which had the larger 1622cc B-series engine intorduced earlier in the year. This car soldiered on until the death of Riley in 1969, albeit with miserable sales figures and stiff in-house competition (from Wolsley and MG).
Also launched in 1961 was the Riley Elf. Again this was a cosmetic job on a Wolsley Model, this time the Wolsely Hornet, itself based on the Mini. The Elf was another good seller for Riley, but wasn't enough to keep the marque alive.
1965 saw the end of the 1.5, being replaced by the smaller Kestrel 1100 A-series Farina Model, again another cross-BMC car. The car was updated in 1967 as the 1300, with the larger 1275cc Mini Cooper engine, but the 1100 was phased out in 1968 and the 1300 in '69.Riley's demise was caused by a variety of factors, being:The falling sales. The public complaints against BMC rubbishing Riley's Heritage with a range of lacklustre saloons. The Huge Financial Troubles experienced by the new British Leyland Motor Corporation (from the merger of BMC, Jaguar-Daimler, and Leyland (Rover/Triumph). A lack of funds for new models for so many marques. The close competition between Riley, MG, Wolsley and Triumph's Models. These all combined to force BLMC to kill off The Riley Marque. Within the same 12 months Vanden Plas and Austin Healey also went, and by 1975 Wolsley had followed. However, all is not lost - there could yet be a future for Riley.

 

Rileys 1896 - 1939 The Pre-Nuffield Years.
The Beginnings of a Marque.
1896-1914
. The Riley Cycle Co. Ltd. was founded on 23/5/1896 by William Riley Junior. In 1870, he had taken over the families weaving business, in Coventry. In 1890 he also acquired the Cycle works of Bonnick & Co. Ltd. The two companies were effectively merged in 1896, with new works being bought alongside the Bonnick works in King Street Coventry. In 1899, the first Rileys powered by an internal combustion engine were shown. They were a Quadricycle, and a Tricycle, both called 'Royal Rileys'. They were shown by the company of Messers William, Basil and Herbert Riley - the three brother shareholders of the company. These were the first official Rileys to be offered for sale to the public. However, between 1896 and 1898, Percy Riley, one of William's sons, had developed a car of his own. The Car was hand-made by Percy, to his own design, in the Workshops of the Riley Cycle Company, however, it was never put into full production. The only thing of note in his design, was that for the first time in a cars engine, he used a mechanically-operated inlet valve. However, although this car was a very successful prototype, which was used by the family for many years, it didn't reach production, meaning that the 1899 Royal Rileys are thought of as the first Riley Motor Cars.

Over the next few years, Riley developed the 2 Royal Riley designs, as well as adapting some of their bicycle designs to take petrol engines. However, the directors were beginning to find the problems in simply adapting pedal-driven machines to petrol-driven, and so decided to design a tricycle that was intended to be motorized from the beginning. This resulted in the 1904 Tricar. The Tricar, although obviously based on the Motor-cycles, was undoubtedly designed to be petrol-driven (as indeed was the 1903-model motorbike). It featured the first Riley-designed engine, from the Riley Engine works, run by 3 of William Riley's Sons - Percy, Victor and Allan. The engine works were run entirely by Percy, and situated alongside part of the 13th century city wall in Coventry. The 1905 Tricar was the first Riley to use a steering wheel in preference to Handlebars. It also had some form of bodywork, and started to look less like a converted Motorcycle. This also meant that the saddle was replaced with a bucket-seat, like that already used for the passenger. These 9hp Riley Tricars were the first to enter motorsports, and their success lead to Rileys inter-war domination of their class at many races. Over the years, the Tricar design was developed significantly, until it ended production in late 1907, due to more modern 4-wheeled Rileys.

Since 1905, a 'proper' 4-wheeled Riley had been under development, and was ready for production towards the end of 1906. The development of this car had lead to the Riley Engine Co. having to move in that summer. This was done with the aid of a lorry that they specifically built themselves, and was able to carry up to 2 tons, simply using the v-twin 9hp engine from the Tricars. The Car was a light 2-seater, using the V-twin engine, and available with an optional hood. Throughout 1906 and 1907, the cars were successful in many of the events (mainly hillclimbs) that they were entered in, winning a large number of them outright, although mainly due to Handicapping procedures.. A significant development that Riley used on this car, was the patented detachable wheel, which meant that the puncture didn't have to be repaired in-situ, but the wheel could simply be replaced. During this period, the success of the cars led the Riley Cycle Company to cease production of bicycles by 1911. However, before this, in late 1907, Riley had decided that a larger car was necessary. Therefore they had developed the Riley 12-18hp. This still used a V-twin engine, but scaled up to about 2 litres. The car was usually a 4-seater, but had many different bodies put on it in it's lifetime. These bodies included a Landaulet, 2-seater, and 4-seater with rearward facing rear seats. Most models featured tool-trays under the front passenger seat, an idea which was used on many further Rileys (although later transferred to an under-bonnet location). By the 1908 Motor Show, another new model had been launched, in the shape of the Riley 10hp. This was generally a 2-seater model, with a shortened chassis, and smaller engine than the 12-18hp. Most of the development of the Riley Cars was now being carried out by Percy (Engines/Mechanics) and Stanley (Body design). The other family members played lesser parts as controllers of the various Riley companies.

During 1910, the 9hp model was gradually phased-out, leaving the company running a 2-car production line. Then, during 1913, many changes were made in the Company infrastructure. The Riley Motor Manufacturing Co. took over car production, at new works next to the Riley Engine Co., and the Riley Cycle Co. changed it's name to Riley (Coventry) Ltd., and concentrated on the patented detachable wheels. These wheels were to prove very popular with other manufacturers, and in 1913 alone, Riley supplied over 183 manufacturers with wheels. During this period of reorganisation, a brand new car, The Riley 17hp was launched. It featured a brand new 4-cylinder, 3 litre engine. Again various bodies were available, but production hardly got under way before war was declared.

 

 

 

Condition

  The car is in a very good condition. The original engine still in great condition, the body has no dent, Lead Time and the interior is clean with clothed seats. Running until 1982.
 
 
Photo Gallery

Similar Model

                      Similar Model

Actual Model

Actual ModelOur Actual  Model
 
Actual ModelActual Model

Similar Model

Similar Model
 

Similar Models

 

Home Up News أخبار Services خدمات

Send mail to yemenclasiccars@yahoo.com with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2000 Yemen Classic Cars
Last modified: اكتوبر 17, 2001 by Alsaqqaf from Ibex ITC. at alsaqqaf@canada.com
Add Your Site Add Your Site

This Site was designed by

 

 Designed on 
 
 
to run best
 

 You are visitor number     انت الزائر رقم

Information Request Form

get this gear!

فضلاً وقع سجل الزيارات
او اقراء سجل الزيارات
View My Guest book
Sign My
get this gear!
  اخبر صديق عن السيارات القديمة في اليمن